Auburn MRED International Field Study: Day Three

Today was one of the most inticipated days of the MRED International trip.  Wine tour day!  The United States is just getting leaving a long winter season so the group was looking forward to getting out of the city for a day to enjoy the vineyards as well as the 95 degree heat.  After breakfast the group met at 8:45 and off we went on the hour long trip to the Yarra Valley.

Our first stop was to visit the Chandon Vineyard and winery.  After a brief tour of the winery’s process, the group was invited to taste their award winning sparkling red wines.  Afterwards, many members of the group decided to taste addition wines that were grown on site.

Chandon

Our second stop on tour was the Fergusson Winery and Restaurant.  This much smaller winery sits on a 40-acre site and is still owned and operated by the Fergusson family.  The group found it very interesting when the young lady pouring samples introduced a wine by saying “Our last wine was the Benjamyn Cabernet named after my brother.  Our next wine is the 1999 Victoria Chardonnay named after yours truly.”  Sure enough, her nametag read Victoria.  Afterwards, the group ate a much-needed lunch to end our Fergusson visit.

Group Photo

Our last stop of the day was the De Bortoli Itilaian based winery on a 600 acre farm that was established in 1928.  In addition to their award winning wine list, Bortoli is internationally known for their selection of cheeses.  The server gave us a detailed history of not only their vineyard but the history of the Yarra Valley and the grape growing process as a whole.  She explained that many investors have lost money in the Yarra Valley in efforts to produce a quality wine. This is due to the length of time that is required before the investment of planting the grapes and pays off with a quality crop.  She stated that most plants begin producing “table wine” grade grapes in 20 years.  It is not until year 50 they produce the most productive yield.  She added “You plant grapes for your children.”  This must be true because all three vineyards that we visited today were in their third and fourth generation.

About Developing a Developer

I am currently in graduate school in Auburn University's Real Estate Development program. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. In addition to my schoolwork, I love seek out books, articles, blogs, and people that can future my knowledge of this ever changing industry. So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, write another paper, or take another test I would have answered with "Not in a million years!" If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that. I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!
This entry was posted in Education, Green Building, MRED, Sustainable Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

