A View From MRED International Field Study: Melbourne Day 1 & 2

As I have discussed in previous post, the Auburn MRED students take a field study at the end of every semester.  While most are locations within the United States, one is an international trip.  Our faculty selected Melbourne Australia and Auckland New Zealand for us this year.  Now that I am here in Melbourne, I thought it would be a good idea to make a few post about what we are doing while here.

As you could imagine, the flight was long. It was 27 hours long for me.  The only positive is that I was able to get 6-7 hours of good sleep between LAX and Melbourne.  Once we arrived there was not much downtime.  The flight landed at 10:30 and we were off to our first meeting by 1:00.  This turned out to be a good idea because it would force us to get on “their time.”

Our first planned event was a quick bus tour of the city followed by a nice lunch at World Bar and Restaurant located on the Yarra River.  While the food was pretty good, the highlight of the meal was simple catching up with friends that I had not seen since our last trip to Auburn in January.

photo-13

Afterwards the bus delivered us back to the Rendezvous Hotel where we agreed to meet back up at 6:00.  That gave me an hour nap.  The hour nap turned into a 13 hour slumber.  I hear the Australian Rules Football game was great….

Because of the 13-hour sleep, I woke up feeling GREAT.  I went for a short pre-dawn run and then to breakfast to meet everyone.  Because cell phones are pretty much useless, we have to agree to meet at places.  (Side note: How did the world work pre-cell phones?)

At 10:00 we all met and chose which way everyone was going.  I chose the “Open Market then the Beach” option.  Great choice!  Our first trip was to the Queen Victoria Market.  One of the worlds largest…..Flea Markets.

Queen Victoria Market

 

Of course there were your typical tourist souvenir items along with cheap clothing, but there was also a produce market and wine market.

 

After the market we decided to take a 20 minute trolly ride to St. Kilda beach in Victoria.  We were able to have a nice lunch and even made it to the beach for a quick dip in the Bay.

photo-14

The beach was very… interesting.  Baeu and I agree “It isn’t Seaside.”

About Developing a Developer

I am currently in graduate school in Auburn University's Real Estate Development program. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. In addition to my schoolwork, I love seek out books, articles, blogs, and people that can future my knowledge of this ever changing industry. So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, write another paper, or take another test I would have answered with "Not in a million years!" If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that. I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!
This entry was posted in Education, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

