The Landlords Prayer

I came across this while reading the Real Estate Economy Watch.  I thought it was to good not to pass along.  I know I have said this prayer a time or two.

The Landlord Prayer

 

Help me Lord, for as you know

I’ve bought a rental bungalow.

It’s small and plain and seen its day

Yet it has cost my 401 K.

 

Lord, I pray to you in darkness and fear

As I wander the wilderness far and near

Seeking cut-rate contractors who may exist

In the bottom ranks of Angie’s List.

Forgive me oh Lord as I do penance

For all the things I do to my tenants:

Rental hikes and credit snooping

Cheap repairs and leaky roofing.

Bless my renters, give them skills

To patch and paint, to fix all ills.

Lord, keep the plumbing working right

So they never call me in the middle of the night.

Dear Lord I pray please hear my plea

Spare me the throes of bankruptcy.

Keep cash flow high and vacancies low

Or else I’ll end my days in woe.

 

 

Homer Guthrie

About Developing a Developer

I am currently in graduate school in Auburn University's Real Estate Development program. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. In addition to my schoolwork, I love seek out books, articles, blogs, and people that can future my knowledge of this ever changing industry. So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, write another paper, or take another test I would have answered with "Not in a million years!" If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that. I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!
This entry was posted in Landlord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

