Having Focus and Passion About Everything You Do

Breaking News: Steve Jobs died a few months ago.  If this is news to you, I’ll let it sink in for a minute.  Ok, ready to continue now? Good.

Years before Mr. Jobs past he gave what has become a famous commencement speech to the 2005 graduating class of Stanford University.

You may ask “That’s a good speech, but why put it on a real estate blog?”  I think there is much a real estate graduate student in Mississippi can learn from this California college-drop out.

One of the most interesting things about Auburn’s MRED program has to be the intent of this students.  Why are they there?  These answers range from “I wanted to stay in school.” to “The military told they would pay for it.”  However, between those two extremes you will find many interesting reason they chose to alter their path for two years in order to gain the knowledge and experiences that graduate school offers.  It is easy to see that our class loves real estate.  We are practicing real estate brokers, developers, commercial and residential builders, finance, and appraisal professionals.  With all of these specialty backgrounds, the “Why are you hear?” question varies greatly from student to student.  For me, it is to gain a better focus on my my love of real estate.

In the speech above, Steve challenges the audience to discover what they love and then pursue it with great passion.  While this speech was intended for a commencement ceremony, I believe its message could apply to all of us.  I for one know that I have been guilty of loosing focus, both professionally and personally, from time to time on the things and people that I love.  If your not clearly focus on these things, how do you expect to successfully pursue them?

“Do you have a clear focus on your loves?  If so, are you pursuing them with great passion?”

About Developing a Developer

I am currently in graduate school in Auburn University's Real Estate Development program. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. In addition to my schoolwork, I love seek out books, articles, blogs, and people that can future my knowledge of this ever changing industry. So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, write another paper, or take another test I would have answered with "Not in a million years!" If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that. I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!
This entry was posted in Education, MRED and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

