Ok, lets get this party started!

I am currently in graduate school at Auburn University in their executive Real Estate Development program. After five years as a residential contractor, it was clear now was time for me to take the next step in my career. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. However, I was limiting myself to the role of small contractor. After a lot of soul searching and a lot of reading I decided that unless I learned new skills in my chosen field there would be no way to move forward (one book I read was “What Got You Here Will Not Get You There”).

So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. I am not a great student. Honestly, I never really liked school (you would only need to read one of my papers to agree). If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, I would have answered with “Not in a million years!” If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that.

I have a great wife that is beginning her professional career and a beautiful two year old daughter. It was simply not possible to ask my family to move to Clemson South Carolina, Durham North Carolina, or even Tempe Arazona while I obtain this degree. I have a feeling if I did ask my wife to she might reply with “Sure, you can go.”   Auburn allows me to keep my family in Jackson MS while attending classes from Auburn AL.  Additionally, with a two year old I knew that it was now or never for me.  I know our current evening plans of dinner, bath, and bed by 8:00 will soon be replaced with piano, dance, and soccer practice.  I have no plans to miss many of these.

I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!

About Developing a Developer

I am currently in graduate school in Auburn University's Real Estate Development program. I love real estate. I love everything about it. I love the fact that there are no two properties alike and no two deals alike. In addition to my schoolwork, I love seek out books, articles, blogs, and people that can future my knowledge of this ever changing industry. So here I am! If you know me you will agree that I am not your typical graduate student. If you asked me after graduating from Mississippi State if I thought I would sit in another classroom, write another paper, or take another test I would have answered with "Not in a million years!" If it were not for the MRED program at Auburn I would still be saying that. I want to use this blog to share my story as I go through this program. I expect to make some post closely related to the program itself and others simply about life while I make these changes. I will try not to bore you to death!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

